African Studies Minor Advisory Committee:

Dr. Kofi Gbolonyo, School of Music (Ethnomusicology) gbolonyo@mail.ubc.ca

Dr. Philippe Le Billion, Department of Geography philippe.lebillon@ubc.ca

Dr. Douglas Pulleybank, Department of Linguistics douglas.Pulleyblank@ubc.ca

Dr. Paul Krause, Department of History krause@mail.ubc.ca

Dr. Nuno Porto, Museum of Anthropology nuno.porto@ubc.ca

Dr. Carol Mayer, Museum of Anthropology carol.mayer@ubc.ca

Dr. Suzanne James, Department of English sujames@mail.ubc.ca
The African Studies Minor program at UBC was initiated in 2005 in response to students’ aspiration to connect UBC more closely with the African continent. The African Studies Minor program is designed to provide students with an excellent opportunity to learn more about the African continent’s history, and the fascinating cultural and linguistic diversity of more than one billion people who live in Africa’s 54 sovereign nations.

Since its inception, the African Studies Minor program has remained interdisciplinary and inclusive in its approach. Taking courses such as AFST 250, AFST 351, AFST 352, offered through the African Studies program and becoming a minor in African Studies is an excellent way to learn more about the African continent and its peoples, and also use it as a springboard to develop international expertise on Africa. The program provides students with the necessary academic background and skills to work in Anthropology, Economics, History, Linguistics, Literature, Political Science, and any number of other disciplines such as Environmental Studies, International Relations, and Land and Food Systems.

Students who combine their majors with African Studies are better prepared for possible positions in international organizations involved in Africa. Many of our students travel abroad through the Go Global program at UBC, and some hold competitive internships with Canadian and international organizations. The African Studies Minor program is especially useful for students preparing for a career in international relations, development, global health, diplomacy and the academe.

We welcome you to find out more about the program. Please contact the Chair of the African Studies Minor, Professor Vinay Kamat (kamatvin@mail.ubc.ca), Stacy Campbell (stacy.campbell@ubc.ca), manager of the program, and any of the Advisory Committee members about the program as well as their scholarly activities pertaining to Africa. We also welcome you connect with UBC’s African Awareness Initiative.

a place of mind, The University of British Columbia

African Studies
Buchanan E156,
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Tel: (604) 822-0048
Email:

Emergency Procedures | Accessibility | Contact UBC  | © Copyright The University of British Columbia